Our Board:


Warren E. Holtsberg

Chairman of UI LABS
Co-Head of Portfolio Management, The Tokarz Group Advisers LLC, and a member of the Board of Directors of MVC Capital, Inc. Holtsberg founded Motorola Ventures, the venture capital and private equity investment arm of Motorola, Inc. and serves on the boards of the Chicagoland Entrepreneurial Center, the Big Shoulders Fund, and Illinois Ventures, a University of Illinois-focused venture capital, seed fund, and high technology incubator.

Victor (Vic) R. Abate

Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer of GE Global Research
In his previous role, Abate served as President & CEO of Power Generation for GE Power & Water, overseeing worldwide operations of GE’s Heavy-Duty Gas Turbine, Steam Turbine, Generator and Controls businesses. From 2005 to 2013, Abate was President & CEO of GE’s Renewable Energy business, one of the world’s leading suppliers of renewable energy technology. Abate began his GE career in 1990 and has held several management roles in engineering, services, production, and quality.

Caralynn Nowinski Collens

Chief Executive Officer of UI LABS
Prior to UI LABS, Dr. Nowinski Collens was Associate Vice President for Innovation & Economic Development at the University of Illinois. She spent her early career in venture capital and corporate finance, primarily focused on technology-based university spin-outs. As a graduate student, she co-founded SanoGene Therapeutics, an early-stage biotechnology company, where, as CEO, she led the company’s spin-out from the University of Illinois and raised a strategic equity investment. She serves on the board of Imerman Angels and is a member of ChicagoNEXT and the Illinois Innovation & Competitiveness Council.

Ivo H. Daalder

President of The Chicago Council on Global Affairs
Prior to joining the Council, Daalder served as the Ambassador to the North Atlantic Treaty Organization for more than four years. Daalder also served on the National Security Council staff as director for European Affairs from 1995-97. Before his appointment as Ambassador to NATO by President Obama in 2009, Daalder was a senior fellow in foreign policy studies at the Brookings Institution. He is the author of several books and a regular commentator on international affairs in print and on television and radio.

Eric D. Isaacs

Executive Vice President for Research, Innovation and National Laboratories and Robert A. Millikan Distinguished Service Professor in Physics
The former Provost of the University of Chicago from 2014-2016 and the former Director of Argonne National Laboratory, Dr. Isaacs has also served as the Founding Director of Argonne’s Center for Nanoscale Materials and as Deputy Laboratory Director for Programs. He currently serves as CEO of UChicago Argonne, LLC, Vice-Chairman of the Board of Governors for Argonne National Laboratory, and is a member of the Boards for Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and the Marine Biological Laboratory.

Dan’l Lewin

President and Chief Executive Officer of the Computer History Museum
Dan’l Lewin is the president and chief executive officer of the Computer History Museum (CHM), a nonprofit organization with a four-decade history as the world’s leading institution exploring the history of computing and its ongoing impact on society. Lewin has brought financial, corporate, academic, and civic leaders together to advance emerging technology, digital transformation, and sustainability initiatives, leveraging 30-plus years of Silicon Valley leadership experience with companies that include Microsoft, NeXT, Apple, and Sony. Lewin also serves on the boards of the Silicon Valley Community Foundation, World Business Chicago, Advanced Energy Economy, Technology Alliance, and the Tech Museum of Innovation. He is also on the Advisory Council for the Department of Politics at Princeton University.

Anne R. Pramaggiore

Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of Exelon Utilities
Anne Pramaggiore is the Executive Vice President and CEO of Exelon Utilities. In her role, Pramaggiore is responsible for Exelon's six utilities—ComEd, PECO, BGE, Pepco, Delmarva Power, and Atlantic City Electric—which together deliver electricity and natural gas to approximately 22 million people in Illinois, Pennsylvania, Maryland, the District of Columbia, Delaware, and New Jersey. Prior to her current position, Pramaggiore was the first woman to hold the post of President and CEO of ComEd, Illinois’s largest utility company delivering electricity to 4 million customers in Chicago and Northern Illinois.

Lawrence B. Schook

Edward William and Jane Marr Gutsgell Professor of Animal Sciences and Radiology, former VP for Research at the University of Illinois
Dr. Schook is an Edward William and Jane Marr Gutsgell Professor of Animal Sciences and Radiology and previously served as the Vice President for Research at the University of Illinois, overseeing the technology commercialization and economic development activities across the University’s three campuses (Urbana-Champaign, Chicago, Springfield). He currently serves on the Boards of Trustees for Albion College, the National Academy of Sciences Institute for Laboratory Animal Science Council, the Current Water Innovation Cluster Board, and the Illinois Technology Association Internet of Things Council. He is an elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and was a Fulbright Distinguished Chair in genomics at the University of Salzburg.

Pedro E. Suarez

Chief Commercial Officer of Dow USA
Beginning his Dow career in Brazil in 1979, Suarez has driven technical, sales and marketing, and operational efforts, as well as new business developments, mergers and acquisitions, and joint ventures for Dow worldwide. He has successfully held senior leadership roles globally for the company in several countries, including the United States, Switzerland, Spain, Argentina, and Brazil. Suarez has served on boards of industry, country/city chambers, corporate citizenship coalitions, and leadership development think tanks. He currently serves on the CHS International Division Advisory Board.

Mark Tebbe

Chairman of ChicagoNEXT, and Adjunct Professor and Entrepreneur-in-Residence at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business
Tebbe brings more than 25 years of successful entrepreneurial and startup experience that has included the founding of two NASDAQ-listed publicly traded corporations, as well as direct involvement in numerous startup and high-growth companies. He is involved with organizations that include the Field Museum of Chicago, The Economic Club of Chicago, the Aspen Institute, Chicago Entrepreneur Council, and 1871.

Mike S. Zafirovski

Executive Advisor to Blackstone and member of the Board of Directors of three Blackstone portfolio companies
Zafirovski is Founder and President of The Zaf Group. He has previously served as President and CEO of Nortel; President and COO of Motorola; and President and CEO of five GE businesses. Zafirovski currently serves on the Board of Directors of Boeing and Stericycle.